Sini Nyassigui Association

Home

News

Join us

Project

Actions

Help us

Forum

The organization

Sponsorship

Contact

Photos

JUSTIFICATION OF THE PROJECT

Urban areas in Burkina Faso follow the example of the other African urban areas which have been undergoing increasing population explosion brought about, among other things, by rural exodus linked to deteriorated living conditions in countryside. Population growth in African cities poses enormous problems such as meeting the needs of youth. These needs include education, health, employment and, in particular, vocational training. 

In Burkina Faso, the population of Ouagadougou is estimated at approximately 2 million inhabitants. According to forecasts, the city’s population may jump to 2,5 million inhabitants before 2015, at current urbanization rates of about 3,5 %. In light of this mushrooming population and urban poverty, the issue of education will become increasing urgent. Already, most cities must deal with an inflated workforce, overloaded classrooms, schools that do not meet up to needs and teacher scarcity. Hundreds of young people are excluded from normal educational cycles, whether due to lack of familial means or the simple unavailability of a place. 




Aware of these problems and their gravity, the government of the Burkina searches for all possible collaborations to improve the country´s educational possibilities. In this case, it cedes the premises of the Dapoya elementary school for the realization of evening classes, rent-free.
 
It is in this context that the SINI NYASSIGUI association, aware of the real dangers of Burking population problems and their implications for the future of the youth through this most vulnerable arena, has decided to conduct its action. Thus, the aim of the project is to aid unschooled children, those who have been excluded from the classic educational system. The reasons for allowing for “evening classes” are as follows:  
First of all, this "night" school is situated in one of the poorest districts of the capital (DAPOYA), most of whose inhabitants are natives rather than immigrants. The latter tend to have a more combative attitude toward misery, since they have come to seek their fortune in the capital. But people at DAPOYA do not seem to share this spirit. On the contrary, they are resigned to their fate, especially since few investments have been made in their district, soon to be razed and to transformed into a ZACA (Area  of Commercial and Administrative activities). Thus, rates of deprived children who have been excluded from the classic schooling system have risen significantly.




Furthermore, Sini Nyassigui is also involved in the another school, the Joan of Arc Secondary school, a " day school " in ZONGO, an agricultural village which is 20 km from Ouagadougou, on the Dioulasso road. There, relatively well-off districts coexist with extremely poor districts, yet their separation -through processes of urban sub-division - is currently underway. As in other places, those who are most deprived discontinue their studies after having finished primary school and obtaining their Certificate of Primary Studies. This is why Sini Nyassigui has decided to grant scholarships to a number of children in these districts, chosen on the basis of good grades. These scholarships cover the cost of their studies, including books, and assistance for the purchase bags of rice to help their families feed them.

In both cases (DAPOYA and ZONGO), it is not simply a question of contributing toward the education of the most deprived young people, but of supplying the necessary means for those who have demonstrated the will to surmount problems and to triumph over adversity.

Detailed Project



Ouagadougou's map I Dapoya 2 I Press release I Our partners

L'Association Sini Nyassigui

Accueil

Nouvelles

Adhérer

Le Projet

Actions

Nous aider

Forum

L'organisation

Parrainages

Contact

Photos


JUSTIFICATION DU PROJET

Les centres urbains burkinabés à l’instar des autres centres urbains africains, connaissent  de plus en plus une explosion démographique liée entre autre à l’exode rural causée par des conditions de vie de plus en plus difficiles dans les campagnes. La croissance de la population des villes africaines pose d’énormes difficultés telles que les problèmes de prise en charge des jeunes. Cette prise en charge concerne l’éducation, la santé, l’emploi et surtout la formation professionnelle.

Au Burkina Faso, la population de Ouagadougou est estimée a environ 2 millions d’habitants. Selon les prévisions, la population de cette ville passera à 2,5 millions d’habitants d’ici 2015, soit un taux d’urbanisation de près de 3,5%. Au regard de cette démographie galopante et de la pauvreté urbaine, le problème de l’éducation se posera de plus en plus avec acuité. Déjà, la plupart des villes connaissent des problèmes d’effectifs pléthoriques, de classes surchargées, d’insuffisance d’écoles et d’enseignements. De ce fait, des centaines de jeunes sont exclus du cycle normal par manque de moyens financiers ou tout simplement par l´impossibilité d’avoir une place disponible.



Conscient de ces problèmes et de leur gravité, le gouvernement du Burkina recherche toutes les collaborations possibles pour améliorer les possibilités éducatives du pays. Dans le cas présent, il cède les locaux de l´école primaire de Dapoya pour la réalisation des cours du soir sans exiger le paiement d´aucun loyer.

C’est dans ce cadre que l’association SINI NYASSIGUI, qui a pris conscience des dangers réels des phénomènes démographiques du Burkina et de leurs implications sur l’avenir de la jeunesse à travers sa branche la plus vulnérable, a décidé de mener son action. L’objectif visé à travers ce projet est d’aider les enfants déscolarisés, exclus du système éducatif classique. La raison de s´impliquer avec les « cours du soir Tolérance » se justifie pour plusieurs raisons.

Tout d’abord, cette école « nocturne » se situe dans l’un des quartiers les plus pauvres de la capitale (DAPOYA), dont les habitants sont quasi totalement des natifs de l´endroit et non des immigrants. Ces derniers ont une attitude plus combattive face à la misère, puisqu´ils sont venus chercher fortune dans la capitale. Mais les gens de DAPOYA n´ont pas cet esprit. Au contraire, ils sont résignés sur leur sort, d´autant plus que peu d´investissements sont faits dans leur quartier, car il doit être complètement rasé à l´avenir, pour se transformer en une ZACA (Zone d’Activités Commerciales et Administratives). Aussi, le taux d’enfants démunis, exclus du système de scolarisation classique est assez élevé.



Par ailleurs, Sini Nyassigui s´implique aussi dans une autre école, le lycée Jeanne d´Arc, « lycée de jour » de ZONGO, un village agricole à 20 km d’Ouagadougou, sur la route de Bobo Dioulasso. Là coexistent des quartiers plutôt nantis avec des quartiers extrêmement pauvres, en phase de lotissement. Comme ailleurs, les plus démunis qui suivent des études s´arrêtent après avoir passé le Certificat d´Etudes Primaires. C´est pourquoi Sini Nyassigui  a décidé d´accorder des bourses à une série d´enfants de ces quartiers, choisis pour leurs bonnes notes. Ces bourses couvriront le coût de leurs études, livres inclus, et aussi l´achat de sacs de riz pour aider leurs familles à les alimenter.

Dans les deux cas (DAPOYA et ZONGO), il ne s´agit pas simplement de contribuer à l´éducation des jeunes les plus démunis, mais de fournir tous les moyens possibles à ceux qui témoignent d´une très méritante volonté de surmonter les problèmes et de triompher sur l´adversité.


Projet Détaillé


Carte de Ouagadougou I Dapoya 2 I Revue de presse I Nos partenaires